FOLLOW US ON Facebook FOLLOW US ON Google+ Suivez-nous sur instagram
Tripadvisor : N°1 of 41 hotels in Caen - "Brilliant location, excellent service" - "A real gem" - "Helpful tourist information, great location" - "Good Things Come In Small Packages" - "Simple, stylish and friendly hotel"

Accueil > Hotel

Caen, City of William The Conqueror

Hotel La Fontaine is located in the heart of the historical, pedestrian and shopping center. Discover Caen by foot : the castle, the abbeys, the marina and restaurants, ...

 

City of William the Conqueror and capital of the Duchy of Normandy, the city has inherited a very rich architectural heritage consisting of ancient churches and abbeys, which it knew to preserve during the centuries until World War II , Where it was also a key place of the battle of Normandy. The city has retained its memory by building a Memorial for Peace, famous throughout the world, notably for the ceremonies of commemorations that take place there.

 

William The Conqueror

Born in 1027 in Falaise, Guillaume was 8 years old when he became Duke of Normandy. 20 years later, he decided to make Caen a strategic site and his place of residence. He married Mathilde de Flandre, his distant cousin, against the advice of the Pope about 1050. To obtain the pardon of the Church, he undertakes, along with that of the castle of Caen, the construction of 2 abbeys.

William was crowned king of England in 1066 following his victory over the Anglo-Saxon king Harold during the bloody battle of Hastings (narrated by the Tapestry of Bayeux). He then became Guillaume "the Conqueror". Guillaume died in 1087 in Rouen. With his wife Mathilde, they are each buried in Caen in their respective abbeys.

 

Abbayes aux Hommes

Built in 1066 under William the Conqueror, it shelters its tomb. The St-Etienne abbey church is a jewel of the Romanesque and Gothic architecture. Rebuilt in the 18th century, it has been the home of the Hôtel de Ville since 1965, one of the most beautiful in France.

It can be visited for free. Guided tours are organized at 10:30 and 14:00 from Monday to Friday and in high season (from April 1st to September 30th) at 10:30, 14:00 and 16:00 every day. Prices: 7 €.

 

Abbaye aux Dames

Consecrated on 18 June 1066, the splendid abbey church of the trinity, the masterpiece of Norman Romanesque art, still houses the tomb of its foundress: Mathilde, queen of England, Duchess of Normandy and wife of William the Conqueror.

The park "à la française" is free access Free guided tour of 1h15 every day at 14:30 and 16:00.

 

Castle

The castle of Caen is one of the largest medieval fortifications in Europe. Palace of William the Conqueror, royal fortress then infantry barracks, today the fortress hosts the museum of fine arts and the museum of Normandy.

Free access: rampart walk, simple garden, sculpture park, playground.

 

The epic adventure of William the Conqueror

Continue the medieval adventure of William the Conqueror with the Tapestry of Bayeux (registered in the Memory of the World Register of Unesco), the virtual tour of Falaise Castle (30min from Caen) and at home with the film about his youth (Video below).

 

 

Downlodable Documents

Map Caen

Hotel pas cher près des plages du débarquement Hotel de charme près des plages du débarquement Hotel centre ville près des plages du débarquement Hotel près des plages du débarquement Hotel pas cher à Caen Hotel de charme à Caen Hotel centre ville à Caen hotel à Caen hotel de charme Hotel pas cher hotel centre ville Hotel
Suivez-nous sur facebook Suivez-nous sur google+ Suivez-nous sur instagram
Tripadvisor : N°1 sur 41 hôtels à Caen - "le calme en plein centre ville" - "Bien situé, ce petit hôtel est très agréable" - "Bon rapport qualité/prix dans le centre de Caen"

Accueil > Hôtel

Caen, Cité de Guillaume Le Conquérant

L'hôtel La Fontaine est situé au coeur du centre-ville historique, piétonnier et commerçant. Découvez Caen à pied : le château, les abbayes, le port de plaisance et ses restaurants...

 

Cité de Guillaume le Conquérant et capitale du duché de Normandie, la ville a hérité d’un très riche patrimoine architectural constitué d'églises et d'abbayes anciennes, qu’elle a su préserver au cours des siècles jusqu’à la Seconde Guerre mondiale, où elle fut d’ailleurs une place-clef de la bataille de Normandie. La ville en a gardé la mémoire en édifiant notamment un Mémorial pour la Paix, célèbre dans le monde notament pour les cérémonies de commémorations qui y ont lieu.

 

Guillaume Le Conquérant

Né en 1027 à Falaise, Guillaume a 8 ans lorsqu'il devient Duc de Normandie. 20ans plus tard, il décide de faire de Caen un site stratégique et son lieu de résidence. Il épouse Mathilde de Flandre, sa lointaine cousine, contre l'avis du Pape vers 1050. Pour obtenir le pardon de l'Eglise, il entreprend, en même temps que celle du château de Caen, la construction de 2 abbayes.

Guillaume sera couronné roi d'Angleterre en 1066 suite à sa victoire sur le roi anglosaxon Harold lors de la sanglante bataille d'Hastings (racontée par la Tapisserie de Bayeux) Il devient alors Guillaume "le Conquérant". Guillaume meurt en 1087 à Rouen. Avec sa femme Mathilde, ils sont chacun enterrés à Caen dans leurs abbayes respectives.

 

Abbaye aux Hommes

Edifiée en 1066 sous Guillaume le Conquérant, elle abrite son tombeau. L'abbatiale St-Etienne est un joyau des architectures romane et gothique. Reconstruite au XVIIIème, elle accueille depuis 1965 le siège de l'hôtel de Ville, l'un des plus beaux de France.

Elle peut se visiter librement. Des visites guidées sont organisées à 10h30 et 14h00 du lundi au vendredi et, en haute saison (du 1er Avril au 30 Septembre) à 10h30, 14h et 16h tous les jours. Tarifs : 7€

 

Abbaye aux Dames

Consacrée le 18 Juin 1066, la splendide abbatiale de la trinité, chef d'oeuvre de l'art roman normand, abrite toujours la tombe de sa fondatrice : Mathilde, reine d'Angleterre, duchesse de Normandie et épouse de Guillaume le Conquérant. Le parc "à la française" est en accès libre.

Visite guidées gratuite d'1h15 tous les jours à 14h30 et 16h.

 

Château de Caen

Le château de Caen est l'une des plus vastes enceintes médiévales d'Europe. Palais de Guillaume le Conquérant, forteresse royalle puis caserne d'infanterie, aujourd'hui la forteresse accueille le musée des beaux arts et le musée de Normandie.

Accès libre et gratuit : promenade des remparts, jardin des simples, parc de sculptures, aire de jeux.

 

La Fabuleuse épopée de Guillaume Le Conquérant

Continuer l'aventure médievale de Guillaume le Conquérant avec la Tapisserie de Bayeux (inscrit au registre Mémoire du monde de l'Unesco), la visite virtuelle du château de Falaise (à 30min de Caen) et chez vous avec le film sur sa jeunesse (vidéo ci-dessous).

 

 

Documents à télécharger

Plan Caen